The Monkees 2012 Reunion Tour – An Amazing Night With Mike, Mickey And Peter

Hey Hey They’re The Monkees!

If you know me, you  know that I am a music lover, a lyrics master, and an avid concert-goer.   I’ll fly just about anywhere to see a certain someone.  But, this is not about him.  This is about The Monkees, and their 2012 Reunion Tour.

 

We flew to Cleveland last weekend to see The Monkees in concert.  I’ll tell you what…..I still love The Monkees.  After all these years.

While I am fully aware that The Monkees are not the best musicians or vocalists, I am very aware that this group of men brings happiness to the thousands of people who continue to scarf up tickets to their shows and sell out concert halls in a matter of minutes – more than 40 years after their heyday. 

 I was very young when The Monkees first hit the scene, but I remember being glued to the tv set every week to watch their show.  I remember nagging my Dad for an album every time a new one was released.  I was in love with Peter Tork. 

 I was too young to go to concerts when they made their first rounds – as a foursome.  Years later, as The Monkees reunited for summer tours and reunion tours – without Mike Nesmith ,  I went to see them as often as I could.  I stood and sang at the top of my lungs for every single song.  I’ve seen various combinations of Davy, Mickey and Peter over the past 20 or so years, but I had never seen Mike Nesmith perform,  so when the group announced this tour schedule,  which included Mike, I jumped on the opportunity.  Of course, it involved flying to Cleveland, Ohio to do so, forcing me to work some Coupongy magic and get us there for a weekend of nostalgia. 

Click here to see The Monkees take the stage.

Here’s what I have to say about Mike Nesmith.  He loved being on that stage, I just know it.  As much as he tries to be the stern, straight-faced guy, you could see him trying to contain his smiles.  He had a twinkle in his eyes when the audience erupted with wild applause when he came on stage, and when he performed “his” songs.  That’s what it looked like to me, and that’s why I say that he should continue to perform with Mickey and Peter.  

 

 

 

Coupongy note:  see the guitar player in the background between Mike and Peter?  That is Mike’s son, Christian!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So what do you think about Mike’s shoes?  They’re so un-Mike Nesmith-like, don’t you think?  But they rock.  And so does he.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

His presence was amazing and a highlight of my concert-going life, but he did not replace the obvious void because of the passing of Davy Jones.   I’m a BEREAVER.  I’m truly sad that Davy Jones was not part of this amazing concert.   The group did a wonderful job paying tribute to Jones.  His smiling face flashed on the big screen behind the band, the moment when the 3 musicians left the stage and turned it over to Davy Jones to sing to us through video was spine-tingling.  It was hard not to cry.  Mike, Peter and Mickey dedicated “Daydream Believer” to Davy Jones fans.  They will never sing it again – they have turned the song over to the fans.  If you get to see them in concert, they will pull a fan or two out of the front of the audience and have them come on stage and lead the entire audience in a totally heartfelt rendition of the song.  It was amazing.  Tingles. 

 

Davy Jones in the 1960s and shortly before his death in 2012.

 

Click here to watch the fans pay tribute to Davy Jones by singing “Daydream Believer”.  I bet you have that song stuck in your head now, don’t you???!!!!

 

 

 

 

 

As for my man, Peter Tork.  He’s amazing.  For someone who was so very sick a short time ago, he has gained strength, can still play a wicked mean guitar and his singing (while he was never known for his singing!) was admirable.  He sang “Auntie Grizelda” very early in the show.  While his appearance has changed pretty drastically due to his illness, he is still “in there”.  I still love Peter Tork.   More tingles.

 

 

Click here to watch Peter sing “Auntie Grizelda”.

 

Coupongy note:  See the woman standing in the back to the right of Peter?  That’s Coco Dolenz.  Mickey’s sister!  She appeared frequently on The Monkees  tv show back in the 1960s and often sings backup vocals and plays smaller instruments for the group when they are on tour. 

 

 

 

 

 

Mickey Dolenz sang I’m a Believer before Shrek did.  He will be the first one to tell you that!   He is still lovable (Mickey, that is), and can belt out a tune with the best of them. Plus, his personality still shines through.  He wore his signature cover-up when he played the steel drums.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Click here to watch Mickey perform I’m A Believer.

I didn’t want the night to end.  Click here to watch them leave the stage – but they came back for a roaring encore.

 

And, like I’ve done in most every other Monkees concert I’ve been to, I stood the entire time and sang my heart out.  It was a fun and heartwarming and downright refreshing way to forget about the nonsense of my every day life.   I’m definitely a BELIEVER.

Want to hear some more?   Click here for Mary, Mary.   Click here for Pleasant Valley Sunday.   Click here for Last Train To Clarksville.

 

 

 

2 Comments on “The Monkees 2012 Reunion Tour – An Amazing Night With Mike, Mickey And Peter”

  1. […] seen the remaining Monkees since then (click here to read my review). They put on a great show and have done a wonderful tribute to Davy by letting […]

  2. […] the country.  Or they can read my previous posts about their shows.  You can too, by clicking here and […]


Leave a Reply

